Imgwhat we are reading this summer

by

IMG_0426.JPG

I abandon New York for the West Coast every summer, and I like to pull at least some of my summer reading from west of the Mississippi, too. There’s a lot of really wonderful Western and so-called regional writing out there, much of it undersung—like my best find from last summer, James Galvin’s “The Meadow,” a lovely little hundred-year history-in-novel-form of a little patch of land in southern Wyoming. This summer I’m planning to revisit John Muir, for some writing I’m thinking of doing about Yosemite, and also looking forward to “Gold Fame Citrus,” the forthcoming novel from Claire Vaye Watkins, whose 2012 short-story collection, “Battleborn,” I admired. And on a not-Western note (except in the Western-canon sense), I hope to finally read a book I’ve been meaning to get around to for a while: Frank Kermode’s “The Genesis of Secrecy,” an inquiry into the act of interpretation.

Leave a Reply

